Home About the Department Site map Contact
  Alley William R. Alley
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5459
Office: BSE 1.104H
E-Mail: william.alley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Bioanalytical chemistry
• Glycomics
• Glycoproteomics/Proteomics
• Analytical glycobiology
• Mass spectrometry
  Stephan B. H. Bach
Associate Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-6896
Office: BSE 1.104D
E-Mail: stephen.bach@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Mass spectrometry
• Chemical Imaging
• Metal clusters
• Nanomaterials
  Banglin Chen

Office Phone: (210) 458-5461
Office: BSE 1.104C
E-Mail: banglin.chen@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Nanoporous metal-organic frameworks
• Nanoparticles
• Functionalization of nano-sized cavities
  Walter C. Ermler

Office Phone: (210) 458-7005
Office: BSE 1.104E
E-Mail: walter.ermler@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Computational spectroscopy
• Modeling heavy-element compounds
• Theoretical chemistry
  Doug Frantz
Associate Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-7048
Office: BSE 4.258
E-Mail: doug.frantz@utsa.edu
Laboratory Web Page

Areas of Specialization
• Medicinal chemistry, physical organic chemistry, and process chemistry
• Asymmetric catalysis
• Heterocyclic synthesis
  John Frederick
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Office Phone: (210) 458-4110
Office: MB 4.120N
E-Mail: John.Frederick@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Computational molecular dynamics, with a special emphasis on the study of molecular vibrations and structural rearrangements induced by the absorption of light
  Carlos D. Garcia
Associate Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5774
Office: BSE 1.104L
E-Mail: carlos.garcia@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Adsorption kinetics and structure of proteins on CNT
• Bioanalytical chemistry
• Coupling micro-organisms to microfluidics
  Waldemar Gorski
Professor and Department Chair

Office Phone: (210) 458-4961
Office: BSE 1.104M
E-Mail: waldemar.gorski@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Electrochemical enzyme assays
• Electrochemical (bio)sensors and modified electrodes
• Electrode films
  Hyunsoo Han
Associate Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5456
Office: BSE 1.104K
E-Mail: hyunsoo.han@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Asymmetric catalysis
• Organic Synthesis
• Polymer and combinatorial chemistry
  Harry Wellington Jarrett III

Office Phone: (210) 458-7053
Office: BSE 1.104G
E-Mail: harry.jarrett@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Muscular Dystrophy and signal transduction
• Transcription factor purification
  Donald Kurtz Jr.
Lutcher Brown Distinguished Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-7060
Office: BSE 4.324
E-Mail: donald.kurtz@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Bioinorganic chemistry
• Non-heme iron enzymes
  Oleg Larionov
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-6050
Office: BSE 4.117
E-Mail: oleg.larionov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Medicinal chemistry
• Synthesis of biologically active natural products
• Enantioselective catalysis
  Ghezai Musie
Associate Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5454
Office: BSE 1.104F
E-Mail: ghezai.musie@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Inorganic chemistry
• Bioinorganic chemistry
• Catalysis and materials
• Green chemistry
  George R. Negrete

Office Phone: (210) 458-5448
Office: BSE 1.104J
E-Mail: george.negrete@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• β-Homoamino acids
• Asymmetric Synthesis
• Chemical carcinogenesis
• Green chemistry
• Novel lipopeptides
  Zachary J. Tonzetich
Assistant Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5465
Office: BSE 1.104B
E-Mail: zachary.tonzetich@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Synthetic inorganic and organometallic chemistry
• Bioinorganic chemistry
• Catalysis
• Odd-electron organometallics
• Kinetics and mechanism of inorganic reactions
  Judith A. Walmsley
Professor Emeritus

Phone: (480) 584-4869
E-Mail: judith.walmsley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Biomolecular structure
• Inorganic and bioinorganic chemistry
• Nucleotide structures
  John C.-G. Zhao

Office Phone: (210) 458-5432
Office: BSE 1.104A
E-Mail: cong.zhao@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Asymmetric synthesis and reactions
• Oxidation
• Phosphorus chemistry
• Small ring compounds



  Hadi Arman
Lecturer II

Office Phone: (210) 458-6730
Office: BSE 1.106
E-Mail: hadi.arman@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Departmental x-ray crystallographer
• Crystal engineering focusing on hydrogen and halogen bonding interactions
  Victoria Dougherty
Lecturer II

Office Phone: (210)458-5473
Office: BSE 1.340
E-Mail: victoria.dougherty@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
  Stanton McHardy
Associate Professor of Research

Office Phone: (210) 458-8676
Office: SRL 1.438
E-Mail: stanton.mchardy@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
  Raymond Sadeghi
Research Assistant Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5747
Office: SB 3.01.28
E-Mail: raymond.sadeghi@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Simulation of chemical Reactions using Time-dependent wave packet propagator using fast Fourier Transform (publications 1-5)
• Simulation of photodissociation dynamics [...]
  Susan Thomas
Lecturer III

Office Phone: (210) 458-7051
Office: BSE 1.338
E-Mail: susan.thomas@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
  MaoGen Zhang
Research Assistant Professor

Office Phone: (210) 458-5463
Office: SB 2.01.22
E-Mail: maogen.zhang@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Polymer-enzyme-nanomaterial-based electrochemical (bio)sensors
• Synthesis of metal-based nanomaterials
• Polymer syntheses



  Paul F. Fitzpatrick
Adjunct Professor

Office Phone: (210) 567-8264
Office: 5.206.4 Allied Health Building, UT Health Science Center San Antonio
E-Mail: fitzpatrick@biochem.uthscsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
• Enzymology
• Bioorganic chemistry
• Bioinorganic chemistry


One UTSA Circle * San Antonio, TX 78249
DOC Office (210) 458-5469 Fax (210) 458-7428