Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

Become A Mentor

Mentoring is a relationship that brings young people together with caring adults, of all ages, to offer guidance, support and encouragement.

Researchers have found that not only does mentoring improve self-esteem but can help a child:

become a mentor
  • Improve his/ her attitude towards their parents, peers and teachers.
  • Become less likely to initiate illegal drug use.
  • Stay motivated and focused on their education.
  • Become less likely to skip school.
  • Find positive ways to spend free time.
  • Be less likely to begin using alcohol.
  • Face daily challenges and gain proper decision making skills.
  • Be less likely to hit someone or fight at school.

For more information on how you can become a mentor in the Greater San Antonio and Bexar County area, contact the following organizations:

Organization Contact Website/Email Phone
100 Black Men of San Antonio Denver Mclendon www.100blackmenofsanantonio.org 210-359-8762
A Father's Love A. Stamps sarnoldbs@aa.net 210-473-4286
Alternatives Etc. D. Scanlon alternativesetc@satx.rr.com 210-659-1293
AMI- Wings for Life Inc. Karen Maguire wfl-cm@amikids.org 830-420-3777
Animal Rescue Connections Justice Works D. Scanlon www.animalrescueconnections.org 210-659-1293
Bank of America  Ross Trevino stefanie.m.benavides@bankofamerica.com 210-566-2500
Baskin Academy Lisa Rodriguez www.saisd.net 210-735-5921
Believer's United Christian Ministry Darrell Younger bucmpastor@yahoo.com 210-212-0544
Bexar County Partners for Youth Mary-Ann Delgado mdelgado@bexar.org 210-531-1828
Big Brothers Big Sisters Melinda Higgins www.bigmentor.org 210-225-6322
Boerne CAN! Cathy Merrill www.Boerncanmentoring.org 830-357-2056
Boys and Girls Club of San Antonio Amelia Valdez info@bgcsatx.org 210-436-0686
Bridges of Hope Melissa Caddell www.hopwc.org 210-648-2600
Broadway Bank Jeannette Westbrook www.broadwaybank.com 210-283-6563
Buckner Children & Family Services Patty Villarreal www.buckner.org 210-921-9230
Buckner South San Sara Rangel www.myssfc.org 210-923-7759
Business Careers H.S. Mentor Program Danny Varella www.nisd.net/businesscareers 210-397-7065
CASA Tiffany Denson www.casa-satx.org 210-225-7070
Cesar E. Chavez Legacy and Education Foundation Claudia Sanchez www.sachavezfoundation.org 210-226-2301
Cherice Cochrane Mentoring For Succes Foundation Claudette Cochrane Lewis chericecochranefoundation@yahoo.com 210-378-1268
Christian Hope Resource Center Christina Poole www.sachrc.org 210-732-3776
City Year Paul Garro www.cityyear.org/sanantonio 210-247-4427
Collins Garden Elementary (SAISD) Carolyn Neeley www.saisd.net/schools/collinsgarden116/ 210-226-7423
Communities In Schools Ilsa Garcia www.cissa.org 210-520-8440
CPS Energy Karen Sanders www.cpsenergy.com 210-353-2701
Frost Bank Sandi Cavazos www.frostbank.com 210-220-5475
Garner M.S. (NEISD) Truett Goss wgoss@neisd.net 210-805-5100 ext.
Girl Worth Unlimited Keely Petty www.girlworth.org 210-651-3331
Girls Inc. SA Zelina Cruz www.girlsincsa.com 210-212-2576
Goodwill Ind. Elizabeth Bailey www.goodwillsa.org 210-924-8581 ext 5415
Green Elementary School (SAISD ) Jamie Ledford www.saisd.net/schools/green131/ 210-534-6851
Growing The Next Generation Kitina Thomas www.gflfc.org 210-857-0168
Heritage Children, Inc. Bobbi Kloss www.hertiagechildrentx.org 210-495-5352
Holmes H.S. (NISD) P. Cantwell patricia.cantwell@nisd.net 361-260-5727
Hope Center/Family Life Veron Blue familylife@satx.rr.com 210-637-5637
Junior Achievement of South Tx Katie Kilpatrick www.jast.org 210-490-2007
K-Love Radio Mauory Bellacosa www.klove.com 210-824-9100
Lackland AFB Deborah Torres www.lackland.af.mil 210-977-2546
Lamar Elem. (SAISD) Kim Aston www.saisd.net 210-822-7823
Learning is Fun Enterprises Mary A Brown, M.Ed., D. Min Intrepideagles7@yahoo.com 210-488-2140
Lewis Elementary (NISD) Sid Lawrence sidlawrence@nisd.net 210-397-2675
Literacy San Antonio Celina Montoya www.literacysanantonio.com 847-436-0131
Marshall H.S (NISD) Vivian Stewart vivianstewart-juarez@nisd.net 210-397-7117
MASSA Health Ministry Juan Martinez n/a 210-923-8919
MDIS Morale Committee D. Boltz deneatra.boltz@lackland.af.mil 210-292-2364
Miller Elementary (SAISD) Candy Segovia www.saisd.net 210-333-0521
Natalia ISD Ruby Vera www.nataliaisd.net 830-663-4417
North East ISD Sandra Kozero www.neisd.net 210-804-7226
Northside ISD Norma Rabago www.nisd.net 210-397-2675<
Northwest Vista College Susan Satrustegui www.accd.edu/nvc.default.asp 210-348-2376
Parsons Paul Mills paul.mills@parsons.com 210-227-2500
Pickett Academy Nick Montgomery nmontgomery1@saisd.net 210-212-4684
Royal Ambassadors Ministries Dr. Keith E. Rolle www.keithram.org 210-723-2992
SA Youth Mentoring Program Tramaine Blye www.sanantonioyouth.org 210-223-3131
SA Youth SATX John Kyle www.sanantonioyouth.org 210-223-3131
San Antonio Fighting Back Inc. J. Speights www.safb.org 210-271-7232
San Antonio Housing Authority Caren Cuellar www.saha.org 210-477-6165
San Antonio ISD John Guardia www.saisd.net 210-299-5562
San Antonio Youth Centers Inc. Magdalena Alvarado www.sanantonioyouth.org 210-223-3131
San Antonio Youth For Christ Gilbert Hernandez www.sayfc.com 210-697-7052
San Antonio Youth Literacy Christina Martinez www.sayl.org 210-299-1533
Sarah King Elementary T. Escobar www.Saisd.net 210-433-2231
Seton Home Alexis Duda www.setonhomesa.org 210-533-3504
Southwest Preparatory School Mark Tapp www.swprep.org 210-302-0504
Starlight Missionary Dan Walker Jr. n/a 210-363-7871
Supporting Others through Mentoring (SOTM) Dominique Rogers www.sotminc.com 972-209-1180
Tesoro Lynette Mitterer www.tsocorp.com 210-626-6789
Texas Education Agency R. Young tea.state.tx.us 512-463-2656
Texas Institute for Educational Robotics (N. VISTA) Andrew Schuetze aschuetze1@mail.accd.edu 210-348-2081
Texas Juvenile Justice Department Donna Garrett Donna.garrett@tjjd.texas.gov 210-242-7852
The Boeing Company Shantel Wilkins www.boeing.com 210-932-7369
THRU Project Elaine Hartle www.thruproject.org 210-852-0220
Transplants for Children Sonia Hidalgo sonia@transplantsforchildren.org 210-949-1212
United Way Esther Cantu www.unitedwaysatx.org 210-352-7099
Urban Connection Leslie Grubbs www.urbanconnection-sa.org 210-785-8446
UTSA Cynthia L. Brown www.utsa.edu 210-458-2526
UTSA College of Education Ron Thomas education.utsa.edu 210-458-6128
UTSA Community Outreach Belinda Grace Harmon belinda.harmon@utsa.edu 210-458-2904
UTSA Office of P-20 Initiatives Dr. Rachel Ruiz p20.utsa.edu 210-458-2769
We Can! Tricia Masucci wecan@hillcountrydailybread.org 830-249-0025
Wilshire Elementary (NEISD) Veronica I. Gutierrez http://www.neisd.net/wilsh 210-805-5175
Wright Elementary School Garnell Harris Garnell.harris@harlandale.net 210-939-3406