The purpose of this program is to provide a financial incentive for students to complete their first baccalaureate degree with as few courses outside the degree plan as possible. For detailed description of the rebate program visit:
Appendix G of the UTSA Information Bulletin
Who Can Apply?
Took their first college course in Fall 1997 or later;
Have been Texas residents at all times while pursuing their first baccalaureate degree;
Have been entitled to pay in-state tuition at all times while pursuing the degree;
Have not yet graduated with their first baccalaureate degree. You must apply for the tuition rebate before the end of the semester in which you plan to graduate. You WILL NOT receive the rebate if your application is received after you have been awarded your degree!
Key Eligibility Requirements:
Students must meet all requirements as stated by law (Texas Education Code §54.0065 & Coordinating Board Rules, Chapter 13 Subchapter E). To qualify for the $1,000 rebate students must have:
attempted no more than three semester credit hours in excess of the minimum number of hours required for their degree;
graduate in a timely manner, including , graduating “with in four calendar years for a four-year degree or within five calendar years for a five-year degree "if the degree is in architecture, engineering, or any other program determined by the Board to require more than four years to complete." For more information visit: www.collegeforalltexans.com
Amount of Tuition Rebates
The MAXIMUM amount of tuition rebated to a student under the program is $1,000.
Tuition rebates are reduced by the amount of any outstanding student loan, including an emergency loan, owed to or guaranteed by this state, including the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation.
If a student has more than one outstanding student loan, the institution shall apply the amount of the rebate to the loans as directed by the student. If the student fails to provide timely instructions on the application of the amount, the institution shall apply the amount of the rebate to retire the loans with the highest interest rates first.
What Could Disqualify an Individual?
Semester credit hours in excess of the hours required for the degree.
Attempted hours include every course for which the student has registered, as of the official Census Date, in every semester, including: developmental courses taken for credit, repeated courses and courses from which the student withdraws (dropped courses as well as withdrawal from the college or university).
A recent change in the law allows the first nine hours of credit earned by examination (credit earned on the basis of AP courses, CLEP or credit granted for high SAT or ACT scores) to be exempted--those first nine credit hours do not count as hours attempted.
If a student has dropped more than one course after the official Census Date, he or she probably will not qualify for the rebate.
Dual credit courses--courses taken in high school for both high school and college credit-- continue to count as hours attempted.
Beginning with students who enroll in higher education for the first time in fall 2005, a student must graduate in a timely manner to be eligible to receive the tuition rebate. This means that a student must graduate within four calendar years from their initial enrollment for a four-year degree, and within five calendar years for a five-year degree, currently designated in the law as architecture and engineering.
How Can I Apply?
You must apply for the tuition rebate prior to receiving your bachelor's degree, using the form below.
Tuition Rebate Form
Application for Tuition Rebate* (61.3 kb, PDF format)
*You need to install Adobe Acrobat Reader on your computer in order to open this form.
For more detailed information, please see Appendix G of the UTSA Information Bulletin or on collegeforalltexans.com.