Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

HONORS RESEARCH


Research may be performed within the context of earning Honors through the Honors College or through the College of Sciences, or both.

Honors College: Highest Honors. Students admitted to the Honors College can opt to earn Highest Honors, which requires that they perform research and submit a thesis.  »» more information

College of Sciences Honors: Students from any of the College of Sciences departments who have a GPA of 3.0 or above (overall and in their major) have the opportunity to earn College Honors. Students applying for College Honors are expected to enroll in the appropriate honors research course during their final two semesters. The completed research paper must be approved by the supervising faculty sponsor and another college faculty member. Contact your faculty advisor for additional information.


COS Honors: Department Contacts

Biology
Kristi Johnson
(210) 458-7522
kristi.johnson@utsa.edu

Chemistry
Peggy Neff
(210) 458-5469
peggy.neff@utsa.edu

Computer Science
Dr. Hugh Maynard
(210) 458-5542
maynard@cs.utsa.edu

Environmental Science
Dr. Janis Bush
(210) 458-5660
janis.bush@utsa.edu

Geological Sciences
Dr. Walter Gray
(210) 458-5751
walter.gray@utsa.edu

Mathematics
Dr. Sandy Norman
(210) 458-7254
sandy.norman@utsa.edu

Physics & Astronomy
Dr. Rafael Lopez-Mobilia
(210) 458-5460
rafael.lopezmobilia@utsa.edu


COS Honors: Resources

MARC/RISE Program Contact

Dr. Gail Taylor
(210) 458-5761
gail.taylor@utsa.edu